h1

17 Days till takeoff…

May 4, 2009

I cannot believe I’ll be getting on a plane to Kenya in 17 days! All that stands between me and the end of the semester:

  • Developmental Biology Final Exam (Friday, 8:30am)
  • Geoscience Final Exam (Friday, 12:30pm)
  • Theater Final Presentation (Friday, 6:30pm)

Then I’ll be heading home, where I have a mere week before our Kenya team heads down to Tennessee for some group bonding! Things are moving SO quickly!

Daniel gave me a copy of “The New Friars” that he recieved from the organization he’s working with this summer, InnerChange. I am in love with this book. The book is all about the new movement of people willing to sacrifice everything for their Lord. The book details how these “new friars” have adopted principles of historical Christian orders such as the Franciscan, Jesuit, Poor Claretian, and Celtic traditions. The author talks about young adults who had every resource that any other middle-class American has: food, financial security, education, loving families- yet God has called these young adults to drop everything and live among the suffering poorest of the poor.

Jesus Christ himself lived among the lowest of the low- human beings. He could have lived in lavish palaces, but his Father sent him to live among the people. We too are supposed to imitate Christ, by living among our Brothers and Sister in Christ (or who do not yet know Christ). The stories in the New Friars are radical. Can you imagine dropping everything to go live in garbage slums in another country?! Can you imagine intermingling and dwelling with people who have never heard of computers, who don’t care about what they look like, and who may not know Christ?

This book has really spoken to my heart. I’m glad I got the chance to read it before heading overseas. I’ll admit, I complain a lot. This book gave me a wake up call of sorts- God has given me a chance to live as the Kenyans live. I imagine that this summer will be a very humbling experience. Instead of being anxious and complaining about how things in Kenya may not be “suited” to my “American standards”, I am now looking foward to being totally immersed in their culture. The New Friars take on such radical lifestyles so that boundaries of class, wealth and any heirarchies are broken down. This allows us to equalize ourselves among the people we are reaching out to.

Anyways, it’s a great book, I highly recommend it!

On another note… I’m still short on some money, but I have faith that God will provide!

AND be sure to check out our group blog at www.mi2kenya09.blogspot.com to “meet” the other memebers of the Kenya team!

One comment

  1. Daniel:
    Hope your flight went well. Looking forward to hearing all the neat things that you have the great opportunity to experience. Be safe, have fun and keep in touch. Later



Leave a Reply

